New York

So I’ve recently booked a trip with my friend, and we’re going to New York around the end of May. I’m so excited! We’ve both been there before, but we’re going back because we want to explore some more and do a bit of self-promotion up there with the architecture firms. If anyone has any suggestions on off-the-beaten-path things to see, or architecture firms to visit, please let me know in the comments! That would be awesome.

Below are some of the architectural wonders we are definitely going to see.

The High Line

wilkes_high_line

the_high_line_at_night_7876.qxksrt3zeisg0cw4ws8c4o40.c4xtg9uu3r404wggo4ss0ss8s.th

laverrue_High Line Walk

Jon Shireman 6715721345_47e860e899_o

The last time I was in New York was when they first started building the high line, so there wasn’t much of it. They have expanded since then and I can’t wait to walk the entire thing! There used to be an above ground railroad track that ran through New York that is no longer in use. It became overgrown with weeds, and with generous donations from locals and other sources, the railroad track was repurposed into a public park. I love this type of architecture — the preservation of something, taking it, and making it something new again.

One World Trade Center

1-WTC-Memorial-Plaza-View

New York City Commemorates 10th Anniversary Of 9-11 Terror Attacks

The New World Trade Center Video

 

Once again, when I was in New York the last time they only had 3 stories of this thing built and it was still a hole in the ground. I am beyond excited to go back and see this beautiful work of art. I believe it is still under construction, but they are nearing the end. I am literally drooling thinking about this building. It is a LEED building with gold certification level. The architect was Skidmore, Owings, and Merill.

Armani 5th Ave

160506484_l1000068-528x396

708829899_l1000168 1549617913_l1000162

 

I have never been here, but I am excited to go. We were researching staircases in class and found this, and realized it was in New York so of course we have to go! I think it is very Zaha Hadid-like. It was designed by Massimiliano & Doriana Fuksas.

If you have any suggestions on other places, restaurants, etc, please let me know!

2 responses to “New York

Leave a Reply

